The Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series showcases the best of short films from around the world. The screenings are outdoors in our natural amphi-theatre, under the towering redwoods at the Henry Miller Memorial Library in Big Sur, California.
This is one of the most beautiful venues in the world to view film.

Now accepting submissions.
Click here for more information.

The Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series announces the winners of 2017

“The Railroad Lady” (Timo von Gunten/Switzerland) wins first place and audience award

SEPTEMBER 14, 2017 (BIG SUR, CALIFORNIA) – The Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series announces the winners of its 2017 summer series, as selected by its 9-person jury. 

“The Railroad Lady” (Timo von Gunten/Switzerland) won first place and audience award. “Pushing Night Away” (Jade Hærem Aksnes/Norway) came in second, while “Enemies Within” (Sélim Azzazi/France) finished third.

Recognized as one of the most innovative short film series in the world, the Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series, curated by the Henry Miller Memorial Library, celebrated its 11th year in 2017. This was the series’ most successful to date, having receiving over 1,500 submissions from over 50 countries.

“It was certainly an interesting year with the new location*, all the more so because this year’s crop of films was probably the strongest set of films since the series’ inception,” said series director Magnus Toren. “I’m never ceased to be amazed by filmmakers’ ability to crystalize pressing social concerns or universal stories with such artistry, technical excellence, and humanity.”

“Selections ran the gamut — comedies, dramas, documentaries, animation, you name it. The series has become known for an element of unpredictability and I think our audience members appreciate that.”

The Series is now accepting submissions for its 2018 installment. To submit and for more information regarding the series, as well as previous selections and winners, visit our submissions page.  

*brought on by a collapsing bridge and a massive landslide in our neighborhood.

E-mail us with any questions.